Who is allowed to consume cannabis?
It is legal for adults 21 years of age and older to purchase, possess and consume cannabis in the state of Colorado.
Learn how to consume responsibly.
How much cannabis can you purchase/possess?
Adults 21 years of age and older in the State of Colorado can possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of cannabis flower OR 8 grams of concentrate OR 800 mg. of cannabis infused products. Adults 21 years of age and older may purchase up to one ounce of cannabis and are also able to possess up to 6 cannabis plants – 3 flowering and 3 non-flowering in an enclosed, locked space. Please check out our Products Calculator for assistance.
How can you legally buy cannabis?
Adults 21 years of age and older with a valid photo ID can legally obtain cannabis from a Licensed Retail Colorado Dispensary.
Adults 21 years of age and older can give up to one ounce of cannabis to another adult 21 years of age and older as long as it does not require any form of compensation.
Where can you consume cannabis?
It is legal for adults to consume cannabis privately, out of view of the general public. It is illegal to consume cannabis in public places, as well as federal land. Violating public use laws can result in fines and other legal penalties.
Can you purchase cannabis seeds and grow your own cannabis?
In Colorado medical cannabis patients and all adults 21 years of age and older may purchase cannabis seeds and clones and cultivate limited amounts of cannabis for medical or personal use. All cannabis cultivated by non-medical patients must be grown in an enclosed and locked space not visible to neighbors or the public. If you are cultivating cannabis at your residence and a person under the age of 21 lives in the home, the cultivation area itself must be enclosed and locked. If no person under the age of 21 lives at the residence the external locks of your home may be sufficient, but if a person under 21 years of age enters the home you must ensure that access to the cultivation site is restricted. Before growing marijuana at your private residence make sure to check that your local government has not imposed additional requirements on personal cultivation, including prohibitions on growing outside, limits on plant count or size per property, permitting requirements, etc.
Can you travel with cannabis?
It is illegal to take any amount of cannabis across state lines and doing so could result in significant penalties. It is legal to drive with cannabis in your car as long as it is in its original sealed packaging.
Is it legal to drive after consuming cannabis?
It is illegal to drive under the influence of cannabis and can result in serious legal penalties. The legal limit is 5 ng/ml of THC in whole blood. In Colorado there is the “reputable presumption” law which means you are presumed impaired if you have 5 ng/ml of THC in the blood, but allows you to rebut that presumption in court.
Can you lose your job or face other collateral consequences for using cannabis?
Unfortunately, yes, employers can still fire adults for responsible off-the-job cannabis use. We recommend learning about your employer’s policy prior to consuming cannabis. Also, since cannabis is still illegal under federal law, using it can result in loss of certain benefits, such as public housing assistance and college financial aid.